Home > Cityscapes, Landscapes, Lifestyles, Nature, Seascapes, Wildlife > America….My Country, Tis of Thee

America….My Country, Tis of Thee

Through the lunacy these days of our political “landscape” (pun intended), it is crucial for us all to remember the simple basics for which we stand. From the physical beauty of our land to the inner

12-nubble-light-72

Nubble Light, York, Maine 2004

beauty of so many of our good people, it is a national pride that should join us all. To me, these classic images created along the coast of Maine are the epitome of the feeling of Americana. The commonly shot Nubble Light above was perfectly lit at low tide when I came upon it while two seabirds were circling the tiny island that sits 100 yards off of Cape Neddick Point.

I watched as the two birds circled, and timed the shot so that one bird fit the composition of the scene in the sky while the other blended into the image just above the little red shed.

20-days-end-new-england-crop-72

New England Light, Maine Coast 2004

The bottom image was shot at dusk in what was again, perfectly warm New England light. The tiny white specs on the rocks and in the water are seabirds settling in for the night.

I will never forget stopping to ask directions from a local to the best place to eat lobster. He was out for an evening walk and did everything short of drawing me a map, going well out of his way to make sure that I knew exactly where I was going before I pulled off.

To me, these are true examples of America…and, btw, the lobster was unbelievable.

  1. Tina H
    March 5, 2017 at 11:28 am

    So pretty!

  2. March 8, 2017 at 6:18 pm

    Thank you very much.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment